Bottle fed or breast fed?

People get pregnant all the time and then they have babies. Babies. Those cute little tiny wrinkled creatures. There’s not one person I’ve met who hasn’t gone awww (I their expression of course) when they’ve seen a baby. Because babies are supposed to instil such a reaction. It’s nature. If we didn’t like babies so much, we wouldn’t reproduce and our species would eventually finish itself. So love for babies is natural. 

So when I was pregnant, I attended various anti natal classes in the UK and one such was on breastfeeding. This is weird if you think about it because breastfeeding would seem like the most natural thing or a baby. It’s been their for as long as babies have been theren. Right? Wrong. To most mothers, doesn’t come naturally. Initially it is a bit of a challenge. For the mommy and the baby. It’s something both learn with time. After reading and attending these classes, I chose to breastfeed my baby. 

Like most things in my life, I somehow manage to manifest more difficulties than I thought I would face while breastfeeding. My little one was jaundiced that he wouldn’t latch on. Three days of agony and bottle  feeding left me feeling like failure of a mom. That’s when my husband stepped in and called in support. And that’s when my super hungry baby latched on correctly with a little help. The feeling was exhilarating. I felt victorious and oh  my so loved. My baby would get nourished through me. (Well he did get nourished in my tummy too for whole nine months, but this was different).

But the decision to breastfeed isn’t just about feeding. It’s a commitment to your child for more than six months. When you breastfeed, your baby girl 

Leave a Reply

